Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays

Maryland Critical Area Commission Contacts

Our website is rich in information and should answer most of your questions. However, if you do not find the information you need or answers to your questions on our website, please contact the appropriate person from the list below:

General Critical Area Commission Questions
Phone: 410-260-3460

Jennifer Anderson
Natural Resources Planner
Jurisdictions: Calvert County, Chesapeake Beach, North Beach, Charles County, Indian Head, Kent County, Betterton, Chestertown, Millington, Rock Hall
Email: janderson@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: (410) 260-3468

LeeAnne Chandler
Science Advisor
Program and policy issues regarding Habitat Protection Areas, wetlands streams and concerns relating to habitat protection and water quality. Specific questions about conservation, protective easements, and mitigation measures.
Jurisdictions: Worcester County, Maryland Port Administration
E-mail: lchandler@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3477

Kate Schmidt Charbonneau
Regional Program Chief
General Project and Program Questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc. Jurisdictions: Anne Arundel County, Highland Beach, Ocean City
E-mail: kcharbonneau@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3475

Lisa Hoerger
Regulations and Mapping Coordinator
Coordination among the Commission, State, and local governments, and various stakeholders pertaining to regulations. Questions concerning the remapping of the 1,000-foot Critical Area boundary. Requests for publications and guidance documents. Assistance with web content.
Jurisdictions: Harford County, Aberdeen, Havre de Grace, Aberdeen Proving Grounds
E-mail: lhoerger@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3478

Nick Kelly
Regional Program Chief
General Project and Program Questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc. Jurisdictions: Queen Anne’s County, Centreville, Church Hill, Queen Anne, Queenstown Talbot County, Easton, Oxford, St. Michaels, Snow Hill, Pocomoke City
E-mail: nkelly@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3483

Julie Roberts
Natural Resources Planner
Jurisdictions: Baltimore County, Caroline County, Denton, Federalsburg, Greensboro, Hillsboro, Cecil County, Charlestown, Chesapeake City, Elkton, North East, Perryville, Port Deposit, Dorchester County, Cambridge, Secretary, Vienna, Somerset County, Crisfield, Princess Anne
E-mail: jroberts@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3476

Ren Serey
Executive Director
General Questions on the Critical Area Law and Criteria.
E-mail: rserey@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3462

Amber Widmayer
Natural Resources Planner
Jurisdictions: Annapolis, Baltimore City, Prince George’s County, MNCPPC, St. Mary’s County, Leonardtown, Historic St. Mary’s City, St. Mary’s College, WSSC, Wicomico County, Salisbury, Fruitland, Mardela Springs, Sharptown
E-mail: awidmayer@dnr.state.md.us
Phone: 410-260-3481