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Proposed Action on Regulations

For information concerning citizen participation in the regulation-making process, see inside front cover.

Symbol Key
* Roman type indicates existing text of regulation.
« ltalic type indicates proposed new text.
 [Single brackets] indicate text proposed for deletion.

and a notice of withdrawal is published in the Maryland Register.

Promulgation of Regulations

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first publish in the Maryland Register a notice of proposed action, a
statement of purpose, a comparison to federal standards, an estimate of economic impact, an economic impact on small businesses, a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal, and the text of the proposed regulations. The opportunity for public comment
must be held open for at least 30 days after the proposal is published in the Maryland Register.

Following publication of the proposal in the Maryland Register, 45 days must pass before the agency may take final action on the
proposal. When final action is taken, the agency must publish a notice in the Maryland Register. Final action takes effect 10 days after the
notice is published, unless the agency specifies a later date. An agency may make changes in the text of a proposal. If the changes are not
substantive, these changes are included in the notice of final action and published in the Maryland Register. If the changes are substantive,
the agency must repropose the regulations, showing the changes that were made to the originally proposed text.

Proposed action on regulations may be withdrawn by the proposing agency any time before final action is taken. When an agency
proposes action on regulations, but does not take final action within 1 year, the proposal is automatically withdrawn by operation of law,

Title 08
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES

Subtitle 02 FISHERIES SERVICE
08.02.15 Striped Bass

Authority: Natural Resources Article, §84-215, 4-701, 4-704.1; and 4-731,
Annotated Code of Maryland

Notice of Proposed Action
[15-135-P]
The Secretary of Natural Resources proposes to amend Regulation
.04 under COMAR 08.02.15 Striped Bass.

Statement of Purpose

The purpose of this action is to make changes to the registration
and transfer rules for the commercial striped bass fishery. The
Commercial Striped Bass Industry Workgroup (SBWG) has
recommended that the Department propose regulations to allow for
the permanent transfer of a striped bass permit and/or quota shares.
The Department does not currently allow for the permanent transfer
of a striped bass permit and/or quota share without the inclusion of
the seller’s commercial fishing license (TFL, FIN, or HLI). Only
temporary transfers/leases of permits and quota shares have been
available to permit holders since the inception of the individual
transferrable quota (ITQ) system in 2014. The Department is
proposing these changes to allow a striped bass permit holder to
manage their permit and quota share in a way that provides the most
flexibility in their business due to the SBWG recommendation.

This action will extend the registration period for striped bass
permits. Rather than being required to register from August 1 through
August 31, permit holders will have until September 30 to register
their permits, or the next business day if September 30 falls on a
weekend. All permits will have to be renewed every year or be
relinquished to the Department. Currently, permits are required to be
registered every three years to maintain eligibility in the fishery. The

action also removes the late declaration period and modifies the
exemption provision to create an appeal to the Tidal Fisheries
Advisory Commission for those individuals who have missed the
registration deadline.

This action will allow a permit holder to sell their permit and/or
quota shares independently of the commercial fishing license. This
action will ‘allow individual permit holders to accumulate quota
shares and hold more shares of the fishery than what was initially
allocated to them. The most an individual will be able to hold
permanently ‘'will be 1/percent of the Chesapeake Bay commercial
fishery..On a temporary basis, there is a soft cap of 1.5 percent of the
Chesapeake Bay commercial fishery, meaning that someone would
be able to exceed the 1.5 percent cap if they have less than 1.5
percent prior.to-the last transaction. There will also be a yearly cap on
share transfers that any individual may permanently acquire set at 0.2
percent of the Chesapeake Bay commercial quota. The limitation to
0.2 percent of the Chesapeake Bay commercial quota is equal to
roughly 3,000 pounds under the current quota, which is the amount
the SBWG felt should be the yearly maximum an individual should
be able to acquire. This limitation would not apply to a buyer of an
entire commercial fishing business, including the transferor’s
commercial fishing license.

In addition, this action will allow a permit holder to sell only
quota shares and keep the permit (without any allocation) for future
use, or to sell a striped bass permit without transferring away their
commercial fishing license.

The time period for permanent transfers in the Chesapeake Bay
fisheries will be during the registration period, August 1 through
September 30. This time period will not apply in a transaction where
the transfer includes the transferor’s commercial fishing license.

This action will also require an individual to possess at least
0.0185 percent of the Chesapeake Bay fishery in order to declare for
the Chesapeake Bay Common Pool fishery. This is the minimum
baseline share amount that was initially distributed to permit holders
in 2014. This is being done so that individuals without a share or with
less than the minimum amount initially allocated are not taking
advantage of individuals with the baseline amount or more who have
contributed their share to the Common Pool. Also in the Common
Pool, the transfer time periods will be adjusted. The March 1 through
March 31 time period remains unchanged, but the current transfer

MARYLAND REGISTER, VOLUME 42, ISSUE 11, FRIDAY, MAY 29, 2015



PROPOSED ACTION ON REGULATIONS

period from August 1 through August 30 will be extended to match
the new registration period from August 1 through September 30.
This action also clarifies that the transfer period in August and
September is for the next quota year, not the current quota year.

Lastly, this action makes stylistic and grammatical clarifications
and changes and reorganizes text.

Comparison to Federal Standards
There is no corresponding federal standard to this proposed action.

Estimate of Economic Impact
I. Summary of Economic Impact. The proposed action will have
an indeterminable economic impact on both striped bass permittees
and individuals who are attempting to join the striped bass fishery.

Revenue (R+/R-)

11. Types of Economic Expenditure
Impact. (E+/E-) Magnitude
A. On issuing agency:
License transfer fees  (R+) Indeterminable
B. On other State
agencies: NONE
C. On local governments: NONE
Benefit (+)
Cost (-) Magnitude
D. On regulated industries or trade groups:
(1) Striped bass permit
holders with multiple permits (+) Indeterminable
(2) Striped bass permit
holders leaving fishery +) Indeterminable
(3) Tidal fish licensees
entering striped bass fishery  (+) Indeterminable

E. On other industries or

trade groups: NONE
F. Direct and indirect
effects on public: NONE

111, Assumptions. (Identified by Impact Letter and Number from
Section 11.)

A. Previous to this package, a striped bass permit in the
Chesapeake Bay may only be transferred if the transferor is also
transferring their tidal fish license to the transferee. By allowing
striped bass permits to be transferred without an associated tidal fish
license, the Department anticipates that more striped bass permits
will be transferred. The transfer fee is $50 per transfer. It is unknown
how many additional transfers will be processed due to this change.

D(1). Striped bass permit holders with multiple permits will now
be able to transfer their excess permits away while still being able to
keep their tidal fish license. Assuming these permit holders are able
to find purchasers for their individual permits, the current permit
holders will benefit economically twofold: they will make money in
the sale of the excess permits and they will no longer have to pay to
renew their excess permits.

D(2). Striped bass permit holders who want to leave the striped
bass fishery but keep their commercial license will now be able to do
so. Previously, to leave the striped bass fishery but continue to
commercially harvest other species, these individuals would have had
to sell their entire license, along with the striped bass permit, then
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find another license to buy that did not include a striped bass permit.
This action will allow these individuals to make money selling their
striped bass permit without the hassle of having to find a buyer for
the entire license, in addition to finding someone else selling the
license they would then be seeking.

D(3). By allowing current striped bass permit holders to sell their
permits without being required to sell their tidal fish license, current
tidal fish licensees without a striped bass permit are now going to be
able to purchase a permit. Previously, since a striped bass permit was
only able to be transferred along with a tidal fish license, these
individuals would have had to either transfer away their current
license to purchase the transferor’s license with the striped bass
permit or wait on the permit waiting list, which could take many
years. They will now potentially have much easier access to purchase
a permit. This should allow additional licensees to enter the striped
bass fishery. The magnitude of the impact is indeterminable, as it is
not known how much money the new entrants will save by only
having to purchase the permit, rather than both the permit and the
license, or how much money they will now be able to make in the
striped bass fishery.

Economic Impact on Small Businesses
The proposed action has a meaningful economic impact on small
business. An analysis of this economic impact follows.
See1ID of the Economic Impact Statement for analysis of the
economic-.impact on small businesses. Licensed commercial
harvesters are small businesses.

Impact on Individuals with Disabilities
The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities.

QOpportunity for Public Comment

Comments may be sent to Commercial Striped Bass Permit Rules,
Regulatory Staff, Department of Natural Resources, Fisheries Service
B-2, 580 Taylor Avenue, Annapolis, MD 21401, or call 410-260-
8300, or email-to fisheriespubliccomment.dnr@maryland.gov, or fax
t0-410-260-8310. Comments will be accepted through June 29, 2015.
A public hearing will be held, June 3, 2015, 5 p.m. at the Tawes State
Office Building, Conference Room C1, 580 Taylor Avenue,
Annapolis, MD 21401

.04 Tidal Fish Licensee Intent to Fish.
A. Striped Bass Permit.

(1) The total number of permits authorizing commercial
licensees to fish for striped bass may not exceed:

(a) 1,231 for commercial tidal fish licensees; and
(b) 499 for fishing guide licensees.

(2) A commercial tidal fish licensee shall possess a striped bass
permit while commercially fishing for striped bass.

(3) A commercial tidal fish licensee who has not registered to
catch striped bass in accordance with §B of this regulation or who
has not received a transfer of a striped bass permit and allocation in
accordance with 8F or G of this regulation may not catch striped
bass for sale.

[A.] B. Registration Procedures.
(1) Registration.
(a) An individual may register for a permit to participate in

the next quota year’s striped bass fishery if they:

(i) Are currently authorized to commercially harvest
striped bass in accordance with Natural Resources Article, §4-701,
Annotated Code of Maryland;

(i) Have received a striped bass permit from the
Department in accordance with 8C of this regulation; or

(iif) Have received a permanent transfer of a striped bass
permit as described in §H of this regulation.
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[(@] (b) A commercial tidal fish licensee[, other than a
fishing guide licensee,] shall register for a striped bass permit to
participate in a commercial striped bass fishery in accordance with
[88A and B of] this [regulation,] section by [August 31] September
30 of each year, or the next business day if September 30 falls on a
weekend.

[(D] (c) A commercial tidal fish licensee who has not
registered by [August 31of] September 30 of the current year, [and
who has not registered late in any of the three preceding years,] or the
next business day if September 30 falls on a weekend, may [apply up
to September 14 of the current year to the Director of Fisheries
Service if the licensee can show good reason why the application
should be validated] submit an appeal to the Tidal Fisheries Advisory
Commission to be heard at their next meeting.

[(ii) An individual that does not register by September 14
of the current year, or the close of business the next business day
when September 14 occurs on a weekend, is not eligible to participate
in the striped bass fishery for the next calendar year.]

[(iii)] (d) An exception to the September [14] 30 deadline
will only be considered by the Department [only for an individual
who can provide satisfactory documentation of a physical or mental
incapacity that prevented that individual from meeting the
registration time period established in this subsection] if the Tidal
Fisheries Advisory Commission recommends to the Department that
the individual who has made an appeal under 8B(1)(c) of this
regulation be allowed to register.

(e) Any permit that is not registered by .the deadline
established in 8B(1)(b) of this regulation shall be relinquished to the
Department.

[(b)] (f) The Department shall:

(i) Make registration available to eligible commercial
tidal fish [license holders] licensees not later than August 1 of each
year; [and]

(ii) Use the registrations received as of September [14] 30
of each year, or the next business day if September 30 falls on a
weekend, to determine allocations for the striped "bass fishery.
permittees; and

(iii) Issue any striped bass permit that is not registered by
the deadline established in §B(1)(b) of this regulation in“accordance
with §C of this regulation.

(2) Registration Type.

(a) When registering for a striped bass permit, a commercial
tidal fish licensee shall specify and may be authorized to fish in one
of the following fisheries:

(i)—(ii) (text unchanged)

(iii) Atlantic Ocean[, its coastal bays and their tidal
tributaries].

(b) A commercial tidal fish licensee who had a striped bass
permit registered in the Chesapeake Bay pound net or haul seine
fisheries as of May 10, 2013 and receives shares and allocation from
those permits shall register in the Chesapeake Bay individual
transferrable quota fishery.

(c) A commercial tidal fish licensee may not possess striped
bass permits registered in both the Chesapeake Bay common pool
fishery and the Chesapeake Bay individual transferrable quota
fishery.

(d) A commercial tidal fish licensee may not possess striped
bass permits registered in both a [the] Chesapeake Bay fishery [and
its tidal tributaries] and in the Atlantic Oceanl, its coastal bays and
their tidal tributaries] fishery.

(e) (text unchanged)

[B. Striped Bass Permit.
(1) A tidal fish licensee, other than a fishing guide licensee,
shall possess a striped bass permit while commercially fishing for
striped bass.

(2) The total number of permits authorizing commercial
licensees to fish for striped bass may not exceed:

(@) 1,231 for commercial tidal fish licensees; and

(b) 499 for fishing guide licensees.

(3) An individual who is authorized to commercially harvest
striped bass in accordance with Natural Resources Avrticle, §4-701,
Annotated Code of Maryland, and participated in at least one striped
bass fishery during the past 3 years, or who has received a permanent
transfer of a striped bass permit as described in §G of this Regulation
is allowed to register to participate for the next striped bass fishery.]

C. Striped Bass Permit Waiting List.

[(4)] 1) — [(7)] (4) (text unchanged)

(5) Any striped bass permit issued by the Department in
accordance with this section shall be issued without an associated
share of any striped bass fishery.

[C.] D. Commercial Fisheries.

(1) Chesapeake Bay Common Pool Fishery.

(2) (text unchanged)

(b) An individual may only register for the common pool
fishery if the individual possesses a share of the Chesapeake Bay
fisheries equal to at least 0.0185 percent of the commercial quota for
the Chesapeake Bay.

[(b)] (c) (text unchanged)

(2) — (3) (text unchanged)

[D-“A-commercial tidal fish licensee who has not registered to
catch striped-bass in accordance with 8A of this regulation or who
has not received-a transfer of a striped bass permit and allocation in
accordance with §F.or G of this regulation may not catch striped bass
for sale.]

E. (text unchanged)

F. Temporary Transfers.

(1) —(2) (text unchanged)

(3) Except as provided in §G of this regulation, a commercial
tidal fish licensee may not transfer shares.

(4) Chesapeake Bay Common Pool Fishery. A striped bass
permit registered in, the common pool fishery may only be
temporarily transferred [during the periods March 1 through March
31, or the next business day if March 31 falls on a weekend, and]:

(a) -Prior to the start of the quota year, from August 1
through .[August 31] September 30, or the next business day if
[August 31] September 30 falls on a weekend; or

(b) During the quota year, from March 1 through March 31,
or the next business day if March 31 falls on a weekend.

(5) Chesapeake Bay Individual [Transferable] Transferrable
Quota Fishery.

(a) Prior to the start of the quota year, during the period
August 1 through September 30, or the next business day if
September 30 falls on a weekend, a commercial tidal fish licensee:

(i) May complete up to four transactions where a permit
or a portion of their allocation is temporarily transferred from the
permittee to another commercial tidal fish licensee; and

(i) (text unchanged)

(b) During the quota year, a commercial tidal fish licensee
may only temporarily transfer a striped bass permit or allocation if
the commercial tidal fish licensee transfers all remaining allocation
and associated tags.

(c) (text unchanged)

(d) [Beginning January 1, 2014, a] A commercial tidal fish
licensee may not receive an allocation transfer when the licensee
possesses [1] 1.5 percent or more of the total commercial quota for
the [state] Chesapeake Bay fisheries.

(6) Atlantic Fishery.

(@) Prior to the start of the quota year, during the period
August 1 through September 30, or the next business day if
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September 30 falls on a weekend, a commercial tidal fish licensee
may temporarily transfer:

(i) (text unchanged)

(i) A permit or permits to a commercial tidal fish
licensee; or

(iii) Both allocation and a permit or permits to a
commercial tidal fish licensee.

(b) During the quota year, a commercial tidal fish licensee
may only temporarily transfer a striped bass permit or allocation if
the commercial tidal fish licensee also transfers all remaining
allocation and associated tags.

(c) — (d) (text unchanged)

() A commercial tidal fish licensee registered in the
Atlantic Ocean fishery may not [possess] receive an allocation
transfer that would result in the licensee possessing more than 10
percent of the Atlantic Ocean quota [on a temporary basis].

(7) — (8) (text unchanged)

(9) For purposes of the license suspension criteria, if a
commercial tidal fish licensee transfers the striped bass permit to
another licensee, the transferee that committed the violation shall be
held responsible.

(10) The registration type of a striped bass permit may not be
changed under a temporary transfer [as described in §F(1)—(6) of
this regulation].

G. Permanent Transfers.

(1) A commercial tidal fish licensee may permanently-transfer a
striped bass permit if:

(a) (text unchanged)

(b) The transferor [was] is authorized to harvest striped bass
in the [immediately preceding] current quota year;

(c) The transferee is a valid commercial tidal fish licensee, if
the transferee is not receiving the transferor's.commercial tidal fish
license;

(d) — (e) (text unchanged)

[(2) If the permit is registered in one of the Chesapeake Bay
fisheries, a commercial tidal fish licensee shall also:

(a) Transfer the licensee’s commercial tidal fish:license in
accordance with Natural Resources Article, §4-701, Annotated Code
of Maryland; and

(b) Transfer any remaining allocation and-:all shares
associated with the striped bass permit in the manner specified by the
Department.

(3) A transferee receiving a share of Chesapeake Bay fishery
may not transfer that share to the Atlantic Ocean fishery.]

[(4)] (2) [If the permit is registered in the Atlantic Ocean
fishery, a] A commercial tidal fish licensee may permanently transfer:

(a) (text unchanged)

(b) The licensee’s share, or any portion of that share,
without transferring the licensee’s tidal fish license or striped bass
permit; [or]

(c) A striped bass permit and a portion of the licensee’s
share without transferring the licensee’s tidal fish license, so long as
the licensee retains at least one striped bass permit; or

(d) The licensee’s share and all striped bass permits, along
with the licensee’s tidal fish license.

[(5) A transferee receiving a share of the Atlantic Ocean fishery
may not transfer that share to either of the Chesapeake Bay fisheries.]

(3) The permanent transfer of a licensee’s share or any portion
of that share in the Chesapeake Bay fisheries may only be completed
from August 1 through September 30, or the next business day if
September 30 falls on a weekend.

(4) The time period described in §G(3) of this regulation does
not apply to a transaction where the transferee also receives the
transferor’s commercial tidal fish license.
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(5) A commercial tidal fish licensee registered in either of the
Chesapeake Bay fisheries may not receive a share in a permanent
transfer:

(a) That would result in the transferee possessing more than
1 percent of the total commercial quota for the Chesapeake Bay
fisheries; or

(b) Equal to more than 0.2 percent of the Chesapeake Bay
commercial quota in a single quota year.

(6) The transfer limit described in 8G(5)(b) of this regulation
does not apply to a transaction where the transferee also receives the
transferor’s commercial tidal fish license.

[(6)] (7) A tidal fish licensee registered in the Atlantic Ocean
fishery may not [possess] receive a share in a permanent transfer
that would result in the transferee possessing more than 5 percent of
the commercial quota for the Atlantic Ocean [quota on a permanent
basis] fishery.

[(7)] (8) (text unchanged)

[(8)] (9) A [permit holder] transferee receiving a striped bass
permit registered in a Chesapeake Bay fishery through a permanent
transfer [described in this section] may not have that authorization
changed to a striped bass permit registered in the Atlantic Ocean
fishery.

[(9)] (10) A [permit holder] transferee receiving a striped bass
permit registered in the Atlantic Ocean fishery through a permanent
transfer_[described in this section] may not have that authorization
changed-to a striped bass permit registered in [either of the] a
Chesapeake'Bay [fisheries] fishery.

(11)+ A ‘transferee receiving a share of a Chesapeake Bay
fishery through'a permanent transfer may not transfer that share to
the Atlantic Ocean fishery.

(12) ‘A transferee receiving a share of the Atlantic Ocean
fishery through a-permanent transfer may not transfer that share to a
Chesapeake Bay fishery.

MARK J. BELTON
Secretary of Natural Resources

Title 10
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND MENTAL HYGIENE

Subtitle 28 BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN
OPTOMETRY

10.28.13 Civil Penalties

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §811-205, 11-313, 11-314, [and] 11-
315, and 11-505, Annotated Code of Maryland

Notice of Proposed Action
[15-136-P]

The Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene proposes to amend
Regulations .01, .02, and .05 and adopt new Regulation .06
under COMAR 10.28.13 Civil Penalties. This action was considered
at a public meeting on December 3, 2014, notice of which was
given by publication on the Board’s website at
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/optometry/SitePages/members-
meetings.aspx#2002%20Board%20Meeting%20Calendar pursuant to
State Government Article, 810-506(c)(1), Annotated Code of
Maryland.
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